Type of Leagues in Fantasy Football

Type of Leagues in Fantasy Football

Fantasy football has been around for quite some time. As it progresses over the year, there have been a lot of variations to the game.

If you’re new in fantasy football, it’s easy to get lost because of the vast number of leagues that have different draft, scoring and roster settings. Picking which league to enter and how to build a team is not as easy as plucking apples from their trees.

Since we want your fantasy football experience to be as easy and enjoyable as possible, we’ve come up with the different types of leagues available to play – starting from scoring to drafter or roster building.

Type of Leagues Based On Scoring

  • Standard League

Though there are certain preferences to scoring options in every league manager, there is a recommended scoring setting that every league uses, regardless of what website you are using. These basic settings are: six points for touchdowns (quarterbacks often only receive four points for passing scores), one point for every 10 rushing or receiving yards, one point for every 25 passing yards, minus-two points for interceptions or fumbles.

Kickers acquire points based on the length of each field goal. A 50-yard kick will typically warrant five points, 40-49 yards equals four points, 0-39 yards gets three points. Defenses receive points based on turnovers, touchdowns and points and yardage allowed. It is important that you play your matchups wisely since bad units can end up with negative scores.

There are also bonuses being thrown. A 50+ yard touchdown or 200-yard rushing game can earn extra points. It solely depends on the manager how these bonuses are allocated when he is setting up the league.

Though standard scoring practices is followed by most leagues, slight variations are made to cater to each league and owners. It depends on you and the people that you are playing with to decide which scoring settings to follow.

  • PPR (Point-per-reception)

The scoring for the PPR leagues does not really have much variation. What’s entirely different on this league though is the strategy. Tight ends, receivers and running backs receive a point for each reception, making other players find this format more enticing.

For example, Danny Woodhead is ranked No. 32 on the standard league’s rankings for running back. In PPR rankings, he’s up by a few notches, being ranked at No.21. The value of Woodhead rises in the passing game. Considering he gets the same number of points for one reception as he does for ten rushing yards, the value is clear.

In this type of league, the owners make changes on their rankings to accommodate players who haul in passes left and right, but may not find the end zone often. Another reason why PPR league is more popular amongst other leagues is because more points are earned each week. Who does not want having 200+ points in a single weekend?

  • Touchdown only

This format is popular to old-school fantasy owners. Touchdown only means getting points only when a player touches down. If you’re on this league, forget the progressive scoring in PPR leagues. None of the player’s performance really matters – even if he rushes for 150 yards – unless he breaks the goal line.

If you’re playing on this league, it’s wise to place on your bet running backs that are popularly known as “touchdown vultures”. Amongst the biggest touchdown vultures in fantasy football are John Kuhn of Green Bay Packers, Jovoroskie Lane of Miami Dolphins, Mike Tolbert of Carolina Panthers, Michael Bush of Chicago Bears and Jamie Harper of Tennessee Titans.

Click here if you want to know more about the successful career of Jamie Harper.

Drafting/Roster building

Re-draft leagues

Owners would have to start from scratch for each season. They use the snake order in drafting their rosters. For example, if you have the No. 1 pick in the first round, your next selection will be at the end of Round 2.

There are several options though in establishing the order of the draft if you are carrying over a league into the new season. You can either determine the order of the draft based on their standings from the previous year or you can randomly draw your draft.

Auction leagues

In this type of league, the owners start with a set amount of money to bid on players. You can bid to any player at any time, as long as you have money left. It’s easy to go crazy with your first pick and spend all your money, so it’s important that you choose wisely. If you’ve blown all your money on the likes of Todd Gurley and Antonio Brown, your money may not be enough to fill out the rest of your roster.

You obviously need a strategy in filling up your roster. First, you would need to create a cheat sheet for your list of players. Then, create a percentage distribution for each position. Make sure that your percentages are within a reasonable range of what you expect the market to pay at each position.

Keeper leagues

In this league, certain amounts of players are simply picked to keep going into the next year. This certainly takes re-drafting leagues to a higher level. For example, say you have decided to have two keepers every year. Two of your best players from your previous roster will be kept and then those players who are not kept are re-drafted. Keeper rules can vary quite a bit across leagues. It depends on the league members and commissioner to decide what keeper rules they would like to observe.

Dynasty leagues

If keeper leagues take re-draft leagues to a higher level, dynasty leagues takes keeper leagues to a higher level. Dynasty owners can keep an entire roster for the next season. This type of league keeps most if not all of their players on the team. If you’re joining on this league, choose your team wisely and set yourself up for long-term success.

If you want to read more articles about fantasy football, simply click on this link.